Rafail Ostrovsky

Rafail Ostrovsky


Professor of Mathematics
Norman E. Friedmann Chair in Knowledge Sciences

Engineering VI - Room 475

Email: rafail@cs.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 206-5283
Fax: (310) 794-5057


Open the bio in a new tab

Rafail Ostrovsky holds the Norman E. Friedman Chair in Knowledge Sciences at UCLA Samueli School of Engineering. He is a distinguished professor of computer science and mathematics at UCLA. He is a Fellow of multiple organizations, including the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), and the International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR); and a foreign member of Academia Europaea, with over 350 refereed publications and 15 issued USPTO patents. He served as chair of the IEEE Technical Committee on Mathematical Foundations of Computing from 2015 to 2018 and served as a Chair of the IEEE Annual Symposium on Foundations of Computer Science (FOCS) 2011 Program Committee (PC). He also served on over 40 other international conference PCs and is currently serving on the editorial boards of the Journal of ACM, Algorithmica Journal, and Journal of Cryptology. He is the recipient of multiple awards and honors, including the 1993 Henry Taub Prize; the 2017 IEEE Computer Society Edward J. McCluskey Technical Achievement Award; the 2018 RSA Award for Excellence in Mathematics (also known as RSA Prize); and the 2022 W. Wallace McDowell Award, the highest award given by the IEEE Computer Society.
  • Theory of computation
  • Cryptography and security
  • Distributed algorithms
  • High-dimensional search
  • Routing and flow control in communication networks
  • Cybersecurity and future internet
PhD (1992) MIT
  • Norman E. Friedmann Chair, 2022
  • Cisco Faculty Research Award, 2022
  • Eurocrypt Best Paper Award, 2022
  • IEEE Computer Society Wallace McDowell Award, 2022
  • AAAS Fellow, 2021
  • ACM Fellow, 2021
  • J.P. Morgan AI Research Award, 2021
  • NASE Committee Appointment: Future of Encryption, 2020
  • Google Faculty Award, 2020
  • J.P. Morgan Chase Faculty Award, 2020
  • J.P. Morgan Chase Faculty Award, 2019
  • Foreign Member of Academia Europaea, 2019
  • RSA Excellence in the Field of Mathematics Award, 2018
  • IEEE CS Technical Achievement Award, 2017
  • IEEE Fellow, 2017
  • IACR Fellow, 2013
  • Quantum Information Processing (QIP) 2011: 2011 Plenary talk
  • Best Paper (COCOON), 2008
  • Lockheed-Martin Corporation Research Award, 2008
  • Xerox Corporation Faculty Award, 2006
  • IBM Faculty Award, 2006
  • Teradata Faculty Award, 2005
  • Xerox Corporation Faculty Award, 2005
  • OKAWA Foundation Research Award, 2004
  • CS282A/M209A Foundatoions of Cryptography;
  • CS282B/M209B Cryptographic Protocols;
  • CS289A Current Topics in Computer Science Theory;
  • CS289A Seminar on Probabilistically Checkable Proofs;
  • CS 289A Seminar on Byzantine Agreement;
  • CS180 Introduction to Algorithms and Complexity;