Mona Jarrahi

Mona Jarrahi


66-147E Engr. IV

Phone: (310) 206-1371


Terahertz/millimeter-wave electronics and optoelectronics, microwave photonics, imaging and spectroscopy systems
  • 2020, Fellow of the Institute of Physics
  • 2017, Okawa Foundation Award
  • 2017, Watanabe Excellence in Research Award from UCLA School of Engineering and Applied Science
  • 2016, Moore Inventor Fellowship
  • 2016, Popular Mechanics Breakthrough Award
  • 2016, Sharif University of Technology Distinguished Alumni Award
  • 2015, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award
  • 2015, IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society (AP-S) Lot Shafai Mid-Career Distinguished Achievement Award for “pioneering contributions to plasmonic antennas and optical phased arrays for terahertz and microwave systems”
  • 2015, International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves Best Student Paper Award (3rd place) “High Power Pulsed Terahertz Radiation From Large Area Photoconductive Emitters”
  • 2015, IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society Distinguished Lecturer
  • 2014, Kavli Fellow by the National Academy of Sciences
  • 2014, United States National Committee of the International Union of Radio Science (USNC/URSI) Booker Fellowship for “achievements in the area of Terahertz Optoelectronics and Microwave Photonics”.
  • 2014, IEEE Nanotechnology Council Early Career Award in Nanotechnology for “contributions to the development of nano-plasmonic and nano-photonic devices and quantum well structures for advancement of terahertz technology”.
  • 2014, IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society Outstanding Young Engineering Award for “outstanding early career contributions to the microwave profession”.
  • 2014, Optical Society of America (OSA) Senior Membership
  • 2013, International Society of Optical Engineers (SPIE) Senior Membership
  • 2013, International Microwave Symposium Best Student Paper Award (3rd place) “Plasmonic photoconductive antennas for significant terahertz radiation enhancement"
  • 2013, International Symposium on Antennas and Propagation Best Student Paper Award (2nd place) Nanoscale contact electrodes for significant radiation power enhancement in photoconductive terahertz emitters
  • 2013, Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)
  • 2013, National Academy of Engineering (NAE), The Grainger Foundation Frontiers of Engineering Award
  • 2012, Army Research Office (ARO) Young Investigator Award
  • 2012, Office of Naval Research (ONR) Young Investigator Award
  • 2012, National Academy of Engineering (NAE) Frontiers of Engineering
  • 2012, Elizabeth Crosby Research Award from the University of Michigan
  • 2012, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Senior Membership
  • 2011, National Science Foundation (NSF) Faculty Early Career Development Award
  • 2010, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) Young Faculty Award
  • 2008, International Microwave Symposium Best Student Paper Award (3rd place) High-power tunable terahertz generation based on photoconductive antenna arrays
  • 2007, International Microwave Symposium Best Student Paper Award (1st place) Traveling Wave Spatial Quantized Analog-to-digital Conversion
  • 2005, Photonic Technology Access Program Research Award