Two Affiliated Faculty Members Elected to NAE

Feb 11, 2015

By UCLA Samueli Newsroom

Two affiliated faculty members of the UCLA Henry Samueli School of Engineering and Applied Science were among the 67 members elected to the National Academy of Engineering on February 5, 2015. Election to the academy is among the highest of honors that can be accorded to an American engineer.

Dan M. Goebel is a senior research scientist at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory, where he oversees the development of high-efficiency electric thrusters, advanced long-life components such as cathodes and grids, and thruster life model validation for deep space missions. He was elected for “contributions to low-temperature plasma sources for thin-film manufacturing, plasma materials interactions, and electric propulsion.” Goebel is a UCLA adjunct professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering and received all three of his degrees from UCLA, including a B.S. in physics, an M.S. in electrical engineering, and a Ph.D. in applid plasma physics/electrical engineering. He is also an adjunct professor of electrical engineering at USC and serves on the UCLA Electrical Engineering Department’s alumni advisory board.

Gabor C. Temes, a distinguished professor emeritus of electrical engineering at UCLA, is currently a professor of electrical and computer engineering at Oregon State University with research interests in data converters, switched-capacitor circuits, analog and digital signal processing. Temes was elected for “contributions to analog signal processing and engineering education.” He was on the UCLA facutly full-time from 1970 to 1990, including a five-year term as electrical engineering department chair. The entire spring 2013 issue of IEEE’s Solid-State Circuits magazine was devoted to Temes.

Share this article