Dean’s Corporate Advisory Board Member

Back to Dean’s Corporate Advisory Board

Wayne Goodman
Executive Vice President
Aerospace Corporation

Dr. Wayne H. Goodman is executive vice president of The Aerospace Corporation. He assumed this position on December 31, 2016.

Goodman was formerly senior vice president of the Operations and Support Group, with oversight responsibility for Corporate Communications, Diversity and Inclusion, Facilities, Finance and Business Operations, Human Resources, Security and Safety, and The Aerospace University.

Prior to that, Goodman was the vice president of Space Program Operations, where he worked with the Air Force, government, and industry partners to develop military satellites and to advance national security space systems. He oversaw four major mission areas—communications, surveillance, weather, and navigation—and assisted with the development of system requirements, provided schedule/cost risk assessments, and solved systems development problems.

Goodman has held a number of increasingly more responsible positions at the corporation, including systems director, Corporate Chief Engineer’s Office; principal director, Evolved Expendable Launch Vehicle Directorate; general manager, Launch Vehicle Engineering and Analysis Division; general manager, Launch and Satellite Division; and general manager, MILSATCOM Division, among other positions. Goodman joined the corporation in 1987 as a member of the technical staff, Structural Technology Department.

Goodman earned a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from Drexel University in Philadelphia, and a master’s and Ph.D. in mechanical engineering, both from the University of California, Berkeley.

Goodman is a Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. He is a member of two university boards: Engineering Dean’s Advisory Council at the University of California, Los Angeles and Board of External Advisors, Mechanical Engineering Dept. at UC Berkeley. He is also a member of the Science and Engineering Advisory Council of Achievement Rewards for College Scientists Foundation. He served on the Air Force Scientific Advisory Board from 2006-2010.