Thirteen UCLA Engineers among World’s Most Influential Researchers

Clariate Highly Cited Researchers 2021

Courtesy of Clarivate

Nov 16, 2021

UCLA Samueli Newsroom
Clarivate released today its list of 2021 Highly Cited Researchers, including 13 scholars from the UCLA Samueli School of Engineering and more than 40 overall from across the campus.

Since 2002, Clarivate has released an annual Web of Science list of researchers who have demonstrated compelling and broad influence across various disciplines. Comprising more than 6,600 researchers from around the world, the list is compiled by the Institute for Scientific Information at Clarivate based on data collected from scholarly publication of papers that ranked in the top 1% by peer citations during the previous decade. Clarivate is an international analytics firm that specializes in academia, scientific research and intellectual property.

The following UCLA Samueli-affiliated researchers are included in this year’s list:

Jun Chen, assistant professor of bioengineering

Bruce Dunn, professor of materials science and engineering, UCLA Samueli’s associate dean of research and physical resources, and the Nippon Sheet Glass Company Chair in Materials Science

Yu Huang, professor and chair of the Materials Science and Engineering Department

Richard B. Kaner, professor of chemistry and biochemistry, materials science and engineering and the Dr. Myung Ki Hong Endowed Chair in Materials Innovation

Dennis P. Lettenmaier, distinguished professor of geography and professor of civil and environmental engineering

Yuzhang Li, assistant professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering

Stanley Osher, distinguished professor of mathematics, computer science, electrical and computer engineering, and chemical and biomolecular engineering

Aydogan Ozcan, chancellor’s professor of electrical and computer engineering, bioengineering and the Volgenau Chair for Engineering Innovation

Matteo Pellegrini, professor of molecular, cell and developmental biology, affiliate faculty appointment in bioengineering

Michael Sofroniew, distinguished professor of neurobiology, affiliate faculty appointment in bioengineering

Kang Wang, distinguished professor of electrical and computer engineering, materials science and engineering and the Raytheon Chair in Electrical Engineering

Yang Yang, professor of materials science and engineering, bioengineering and the Carol and Lawrence E. Tannas Jr. Chair in Engineering

Zipeng Zhao, former postdoctoral scholar in materials science and engineering who won the 2021 Chancellor’s Award for Postdoctoral Research for his cited research that was conducted at UCLA Samueli

Chloe Slayter contributed to this story.

Share this article