Four UCLA Engineering Faculty Named 2021 IEEE Fellows

IEEE Advancing Technology for Humanity

Dec 14, 2020

By UCLA Samueli Newsroom

Four UCLA faculty members have been named fellows of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. The distinction is reserved for select IEEE members whose extraordinary accomplishments in IEEE fields of interest are deemed fitting of this prestigious grade elevation.

The new UCLA Samueli 2021 IEEE fellows are:


Danijela Cabric Danijela Cabric, professor of electrical and computer engineering, elected for contributions to theory and practice of spectrum sensing and cognitive radio systems.
CJ Kim Chang-Jin “CJ” Kim, distinguished professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering, bioengineering and UCLA’s Volgenau Chair in Engineering, elected for research of surface-tension-based microelectromechanical systems.
Dejan Markovic Dejan Markovic, professor of electrical and computer engineering, and bioengineering, elected for contributions to low-power VLSI signal processing and neurotechnology.
Paul Weiss Paul Weiss, distinguished professor of chemistry and biochemistry, and materials science and engineering, elected for contributions to nanoscience and specifically electronic transport in molecular systems.
Share this article