Four UCLA Engineering faculty named IEEE Fellows

Dec 1, 2016

By UCLA Samueli Newsroom

Four faculty members of the UCLA Henry Samueli School of Engineering and Applied Science have been elected as Fellows of IEEE, the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. The distinction of fellow recognizes extraordinary accomplishments of IEEE members in of any of the organization’s fields of interest.

The new IEEE Fellows from UCLA Engineering are:

Wentai Liu, professor of bioengineering and electrical engineering, elected “for contributions to electronically-aided neural prosthetic devices.”

Rafail Ostrovsky, professor of computer science and mathematics, elected “for contributions to cryptography.”

 Aydogan Ozcan, Chancellor’s Professor of Electrical Engineering and Bioengineering, elected “for contributions to biophotonics, computational imaging, and sensing for telemedicine and global health.”

Paulo Tabuada, professor of electrical engineering, elected “for contributions to cyber-physical systems.”

Only one-tenth of one percent of IEEE’s voting membership may receive the honor in any year. The honors will be effective on Jan. 1, 2017.




Share this article